Glossary of Automotive Terms
- Auto Care Association Glossary of TermsThe Auto Care Association provides an alphabetic glossary of Automotive terms used in the industry.
- Edmunds Glossary of Automotive TermsEdmunds provides an alphabetic glossary of terms used in the Automotive industry.
Connect with Us!
Connect on Facebook
OCC Automotive Service Technology
Want to learn more about the Automotive Service Technology Program?
Visit the Olney Central College Automotive Technology page on the Illinois Eastern Community College website, or call 618-395-7777 to talk to an advisor today.
Your Librarian
Welcome to the Automotive Service Technology Research Guide!
Career Resources
This video from the Khan Academy website "Careers and Personal Finance" video archive features Teon, who works as an auto technician in Atlanta, Georgia. Viewers will learn more about how he got into the automotive field, and opportunities for salary increase through continued training and education.
Car Careers was created by the Minnesota Careers in Auto Repair and Service (MNCARS) to help raise awareness about the Automotive industry. While geared primarily to Automotive students and professionals residing in Minnesota, it also features a few great resources anyone can use including the ones featured below.
- 5 Benefits of Pursuing Automotive Technician Jobs
- Auto Industry Career Paths
- Common Misconceptions about Auto Repair Careers
The Illinois Eastern Community College district has a subscription to the Career Coach website to explore careers and program majors based on each user's identified interests. Visitors to the site can create an account to save their searches and utilize the professional resume builder to apply for jobs. Each career path highlighted includes a brief overview of the job, responsibilities, wages, available degree programs in the region, employment projection, and live job postings.
- Automotive Body and Related Repairers
- Automotive Engineers
- Automotive Engineering Technicians
- Automotive Glass Installers and Repairers
- Automotive Service Technicians and Mechanics
- Automotive and Watercraft Service Attendants
- Bus and Truck Mechanics and Diesel Engine Specialists
- Electronic Equipment Installers and Repairers, Motor Vehicles
- Painting, and Spraying Machine Setters, Operators, and Tenders
- Tire Repairers and Changers
Sponsored by the United States Department of Labor, Employment and Training Administration, Career One Stop offers information about career, employment and education for a wide range of careers, including many in the Automotive industry. Visitors to the site can see job outlooks and projected employment, average annual wages, education and certification requirements, and job responsibilities.
- Automotive Body and Related Repairers
- Automotive Glass Installers and Repairers
- Automotive Service Technicians and Mechanics
- Coating, Painting, and Spraying Machine Setters, Operators, and Tenders
- Recreational Vehicle Service Technicians
- Tire Repairers and Changers
Sponsored by the United States Department of Labor, O*Net OnLine provides information on a wide range of occupations including several in the Automotive industry. Some featured information includes job responsibilities, training and credentials, employment trends and wages, and more.
- Automotive Body and Related Repairers
- Automotive Engineers
- Automotive Engineering Technicians
- Automotive Glass Installers and Repairers
- Automotive Service Technicians and Mechanics
- Bus and Truck Mechanics and Diesel Engine Specialists
United States Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Outlook Handbook
The official government website for the United States Bureau of Labor Statistics covers a range of topics and information around Unemployment, Employment, Pay and Benefits, and more. The Occupational Outlook Handbook is one of many publications on their website about career paths highlighting work environment, pay, job responsibilities, and education and training.