National Institute of Automotive Service Excellence (ASE)
The ASE is a nationally recognized organization working to improve the quality of auto repair and service by offering testing and certification for professionals in the industry. Their website provides information on the numerous tests they offer for both technicians and consumers.
This resource offers free study guides to help automotive professionals prepare for the (ASE) Automotive Service Excellence Exams.
There are many freely available websites on the internet to support academic and professional disciplines. These websites require a little more investigation then library databases to prove they are reliable sources of information. Librarians work hard to build lists of open access sites that are solid and reliable for the academic community. If you ever question the source of information you have found, consult with your librarian!
One factor in discovering the reliability and authority of a database or website is to see who published it. Trade and professional organizations often share information that is high quality. Many manufacturers also provide quality information, but readers must be aware of sales pitches, too.
Started in 1999 by repair technicians Bob and Ken, this website has grown into a community of auto experts providing advice, guides, and illustrations to vehicle owners, car enthusiasts and fellow repair technicians. If you have a question about how to repair a component of your or a customers' vehicle, their discussion forum of previously answered questions is available for viewing. You can also create an account and post your own questions to the forum.
Founded in 1995 and located in California, this resource provides information about how a car works and clear, understandable explanations of the various systems that make up the modern automobile. Consumers can purchase aftermarket car, collision, and engine parts, along with accessories.
Started in 1926, Kelley Blue Book (KBB) is one of the most recognizable resources in the Automotive industry, both for professionals and general consumers. Whether looking to sell or buy a vehicle, Kelley Blue Book offers information on what consumers can expect to pay in their local area, post a vehicle for sale, or receive an offer through the KBB Instant Cash Offer program. The website also offers information on potential recalls, auto insurance companies, and repair shops and costs.
The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) is an part of the United States Department of Transportation aimed at keeping Americans safe on the road. The NHTSA website offers statistical information on various systems and products, fuel economy, vehicle recalls, and equipment aimed at both consumers and repair technicians alike. Visitors can also view laws and regulations about automotive safety.
NPR Autoline provides the latest reports and discussions on various topics in the Automotive Industry, including upcoming auto shows and events, Electric Vehicles (EV), product development, car design, and retailing. Resources available for viewing include podcasts and YouTube videos.
Based out of Ohio, the Tomorrow's Technician website is geared specifically towards current Automotive students. It provides all manner of resources and information on repairing and servicing vehicles, the latest tools and products available, training courses, career information, and much more.
Located in Michigan and founded in 1992, the United States Council for Automotive Research (USCAR) is an organization for the advancement of research and development in the U.S. Automotive industry. Auto companies collaborating together on this mission include the Ford Motor Company, General Motors, and Stellantis.
Vehicle Service Pros is a wealth of knowledge pertaining to collision repair, service repair, best practices for auto shops, and aftermarket products. It is home to various renowned magazines in the automotive industry including Motor Age, Aftermarket Business World, Professional Tool & Equipment News (PTEN), Auto Body Repair Network (ABRN), and Professional Distributor. Professionals can also access resources such as training, product guides, and webinars.
AASPI (Alliance of Automotive Service Providers of Illinois) is a non-profit professional organization that was established in the 1960's. Since then, it has grown into a statewide association for the auto collision and repair industry. AASPI focuses on monitoring legislation that would impact consumers and the auto industry, connecting automotive industry students with professional shops, and providing educational and networking opportunities to shop owners, working professionals, and students.
The Auto Care Association is a pre-eminent voice in the auto care and repair industry with the goal to advance businesses who provide aftermarket products and services for vehicles. Their website provides resources for advocacy, education, networking, events including trade shows and conferences, data standards and market research, and more.
AERA (Automotive Engine Rebuilders Association) is an international association that was established in 1922. Comprised of internal combustion engine builders, remanufacturers, machine shops, OEMs, suppliers and service providers, the organization serves a wide range of industries including mining, manufacturing, and racing. AERA's goal is to educate the general public about the association, and advocate for legislation to support the engine builders/rebuilders industry.
AMRA (Automotive Maintenance & Repair Association) is a non-profit association that was established in 1992. Their mission is to build strong relationships and build trust between auto shops and the general consumer by establishing repair and maintenance standards called the Motorist Assurance Program (MAP). MAP strengthens transparency and communication so the consumer understands clearly why parts and services are being recommended for repairs.
ASA (Automotive Service Association) is a non-profit organization that began in 1951. Since then, it has grown into a nationally recognized organization of shop owners and managers working to promote professionalism and excellence. ASA provides education, networking and various member services to advance their goals of providing general consumers with high-quality service and repairs in automotive business across the United States.
EVA (Electric Vehicle Association) is a volunteer organization widely recognized across North America with hundreds of chapters and thousands of members. Their mission is to accelerate and advocate for the adoption of electric vehicles by hosting annual educational events and offering test drives. The EVA was formally called the Electric Auto Association, but recently changed their name.
IATN (International Automotive Technicians Network) is an internationally recognized network of automotive repair professionals across 185 countries. For over twenty years, IATN has worked to provide educational and professional opportunities for its members, and increase general public awareness of the automotive service industry and the organization.
SAE (Society of Automotive Engineers) is an internationally recognized professional association first established in the early 1900s. SAE members are comprised of engineers and technician experts across a range of industries, including aerospace, automotive and commercial-vehicles. They set standards to ensure the safety, quality, accessibility, and effectiveness of products and services across the mobility engineering industry.